Board Advisors

Michael R. Pinsky, MD, CM, MCCM, FCCP
Senior Medical Advisor

Dr. Michael R. Pinsky is a Professor of Critical Care Medicine (primary), Bioengineering, Cardiovascular Diseases, Clinical & Translational Science, and Anesthesiology at the University of Pittsburgh. His primary research interests are cardiovascular and pulmonary physiology, shock resuscitating, sepsis, energy metabolism, healthcare informatics, and outcomes research. He received his MD, CM from McGill University in 1974, Internal Medicine and Pulmonary fellowship at Stanford University in 1979 and Cardiopulmonary Physiology at Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions in 1981.  He has published over 300 manuscripts, 26 textbooks and 245 chapters. He received the 1st International Vicenza Award for Critical Care Nephrology (1997), Docteur honoris causa (Dr hc) from the Université de Paris V (2002), Sodalem honoris causa from the Bohemian Society of Anesthesiology and Acute Care Medicine, Czech Republic (2004), Professor Honoaria from the Universidad de Iberoamérica, Costa Rica (2010), Master of Critical Care Medicine (MCCM) from the College of Critical Care Medicine (2012), Honorary Member of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine (2012), and the SMART award for outstanding achievement in intensive care (2013).

Currently, Dr. Pinsky is the program director for an NIH National Research Service Award entitled "Experimental Therapeutics in Critical Illness" which he founded and has directed for the last 18 years. He has been the Director of the Cardiopulmonary Research Laboratory for the past 32 years. He serves as the Principal Investigator of an R01 on “Using biological time series analysis to identify cardiorespiratory insufficiency,” and Co-Principal Investigator of an R01 on “Predicting patient instability noninvasively for nursing care (PPINNC).”

Dr. Pinsky is the Editor-in-Chief of eMedicine’s MEDSCAPE and the Associate Editor of Critical Care.  Dr. Pinsky is on the editorial boards of the Journal of Critical Care, Current Opinion in Critical Care, the International Journal of Critical Care, the Annals of Critical Care, Journal of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Anesthesiology and Board of Reviewers for Intensive Care Medicine. 

Wanchun Tang, MD, MCCM, FCCP, FAHA
Medical Advisor

Dr. Wanchun Tang is the President/Chief Executive Officer of the Weil Institute of Critical Care Medicine (WICCM) in Southern California.  He holds numerous honorary degrees and citations including Adjunct Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine, University of California, San Diego School of Medicine; Overseas Distinguished Professor, Anhui Medical University (China); and Clinical Professor, Department of Anesthesiology, University of Southern California School of Medicine.

Dr. Tang was an active cardiologist prior to entering the research world of medicine.  His list of awards and honors dating back to 1973 is extensive.  He has been an author or coauthor of more than 200 literature citations focused on critical care medicine.  He has written or coauthored seven books on similar subjects.  Dr. Tang is named as inventor or co-inventor on thirteen patents that deal with critical care medicine.

Dr. Tang and his team led many of the early studies and peer-reviewed papers on the importance of tissue pCO2  at WICCM.  Their discoveries are the scientific basis of the MicroTrendTM System.

Charles D. Snead Jr.
Co-Founder and Attorney

Mr. Snead has been ExoStat’s Secretary, Treasurer and Director since August 2009, when the Company was formed.  Mr. Snead is an attorney and has served in various legal, executive, and director positions in several NYSE and NASDAQ exchange listed companies over a 45-year period.  Mr. Snead is a self-employed consultant and attorney to various ventures in the Circle F Ventures family as well as to Hayden R. Fleming personally and his affiliated companies.  Mr. Snead serves as a Director to Resuscitation International, LLC and Vasamed Inc., both companies serving the medical industry.  Mr. Snead holds a degree in Industrial Engineering from Lehigh University and an LL.B. from University of Virginia.